Club Handicap Championship

Club Handicap Championship

The latest 2024 Handicap Table here

Handicap Recorded Times from 1986 to Present here, (Note this is a compressed zip file)

Handicap Points from 1995 to Present here.

Many thanks to all the various custodians of the Handicap results over the years. Their hard work and record-keeping has allowed the following information to be available for ongoing analysis by club members.

For those interested in understanding how the handicap series has evolved since the creation of Otley AC, please follow this link to the Handicap Timeline.

What is a Handicap?

If you have never run a handicap before, the idea is that the slower runners set off first the fastest off last and hopefully everyone gets to the finish together.

For example if the handicap distance is 5k and a runner ‘A’ usually runs a 5k in about 30 minutes, a second runner ‘B’ about 16 minutes. Then at the start of the handicap runner A starts 14 minutes before runner B. If both run to form the runner B catches A at the finish line.

Do I need to enter, Do I need to do anything? No, just turn up at the start and I will sort out a start time for you on the morning/evening.

.. and the Eric Smith Trophy?

The Eric Smith handicap trophy is awarded to the person with the most points accululated over the montly handicap races. Points are awarded at each handicap the winner gaining the number of points based on how many do the handicap.

Benefits of the Handicap series..

  • 12 free low key races for the year.
  • Good for motivation. pretty much everyone who has finished near the top of the handicap trophy table has ended the year fitter and faster then they were in January.
  • Everybody has the chance to finish first.
  • Run different routes to the norm.
  • A great social get together. meeting folk who aren’t part of your training group.
  • At most of the handicaps there’s post race refreshment in the local pub.
  • If you have a bad run or I get your handicap wrong, never… then for sure you’ll have an easier handicap at the next one.
  • A chance to give the handicapper some abuse about your handicap
  • It’s all a bit of fun nobody takes it too seriously.

The future race venues and dates are on the upcoming events section of the website on the home page.

If you are unable to make a handicap race, you can run the route in the preceding 7 days, letting me, (Andrew Robertshaw), by email : before you run and afterwards with some evidence of your time, a link to your strava, garmin, or even just a photo of your stop watch will be acceptable.

Handicap Routes

CalverleyDanefieldEast Keswick
EccupEccup Alwoodley LaneEccup New Inn
Ken DixonKirkby OverblowLeathley
Square & CompassThruscross Reservoir (anti-clockwise)Weeton
Wellington Inn, Darley (3 Laps)Weston Lane Wharfemeadows 

Eric Smith Handicap Podium places for the 28 years of the monthly handicap races.

2023Ceit KonoplitsBob PayneChris Brunold
2022Rachel MichaelSarah Belt-McMullinBob Payne
2021Ann PowellMick JeffreyCarol Armitstead
2020Antonio CardinaleNick HodgkinsonDavid Fox
2019Lee GumbrellBob PaynePaul Clifford
2018Bob PayneTom HannahAndy Webster
2017Rob FearnleyLaura HindAntonio Cardinale
2016David CattanachTom LynchTom Pomfrett
2015Tom LynchDominic EganChris Tomlinson
2014Nicola LeeSean O’HalloranCharlotte Tomlinson
2013Ursula McGouranDominic EganCaron Ralph
2012Billy RaynerRichard HamerTom Hannah
2011Caron Ralph & Matt BroughtonBen Cousen
2010Graham SteadJohn ArmitsteadBilly Rayner
2009Billy RaynerNeil CharltonIan Fisher
2008John DadeZack WhiteheadPaul Clifford
2007Mick JeffreyAntonio CardinaleMichael Pickard
2006Mark CliffordMark BlaggZack Whitehead
2005Paul CliffordPhil RobinsonTom Hannah
2004Kath RobertshawDavid CattanachDavid Hainsworth
2003Graham SteadPaul CliffordMalcolm Court
2002Phil RobinsonKath RobertshawCarl Walsh
2001Antonio CardinaleGraham SteadTom Hannah
2000Tony AllenDavid HainsworthDavid Fox
1999John Straiton & Graham SteadPhil Robinson
1998Ian FisherChris CarverTom Hannah
1997David FoxPhil RobinsonSteve Haywood
1996John StraitonPaul CubbonDavid Hainsworth
1995Tony AllenTom HannahPhil Robinson