Club Runner of the Year

Club Runner of the Year

Here’s the Runner of the Year for 2021 table.

Note that only results from races appearing on the club news page are included in the Runner of the Year and Rankings list.

If you’d like your result to be included please make sure you email  details of the race winners time and your result & other Otley members running to

A brief explanation for 2017:

  • The Runner of the Year (RoY) is an award presented to the best all-round athlete in the club irrespective of age or sex
  • After another interesting and competitive Runner of the Year in 2016, it has been decided to keep the format roughly the same for 2017
  • However the Committee are still of the opinion that the Park Runs have too much influence on the final outcome
  • Again this year there will be three races in the main categories plus an extra category for the Park Runs of which you may only count one score
  • Races have not been pre-selected so can be planned to suit each individual
  • An equal emphasis has been adopted for off-road and road races.

The races are divided into 6 categories:

  1. Off-road with a distance of up to and including 10k
  2. Off-road with a distance of over 10k
  3. Open road races with a distance of up to and including 10k
  4. Open road races with a distance of over 10k
  5. Park Run / Chevin runSunday – One race may count
  6. Track – One of the two Club track races may count.

Off-road includes cross-country, trail and fell races. All the cross-country races would be in category 1.

Members may submit any races that fall into these categories.


Categories 5 and 6 are optional.

PLEASE NOTE CHANGE FOR 2013:- 10 races out of a maximum of 14 to count. Remember only 1 track event and 1 Park Run/Chevin runSunday can count.

No Harrogate District Summer Race League or veterans-only races to count.

Results must be posted on the Otley AC website stating:
Date, type of race (eg trail, fell, road), winner’s official time and your official time.



Points are awarded on the following basis:

Your personal time as a percentage of the winner’s time. This is then multiplied by an age/sex related factor.

For example: on 25th January 2013, the Mythical 10km race took place…

Name – Time – Percentage of Winner’s Time – Age/Sex Factor – Points
Ben Runner (aged 35) – 31.00 – 100% – 1.0286 – 102.9
James Jackson (aged 30) – 34.30 – 89.9% – 1.0084 – 90.6
Kate Harrismith (aged 65) – 40.00 – 77.5% – 1.4803 – 114.7

plus the winners for the earlier years were:

 2021 Mark Hall 2010 Mick Jeffrey 1999 Julian Mawson
 2020 Scott Harrington 2009 Tom Hannah 1998 Ian Fisher
 2019 Mark Hall 2008 Ian Fisher 1997 Ian Fisher
 2018 Mark Hall 2007 Ian Fisher 1996 Tony Allen
 2017 Mark Hall 2006 Ian Fisher 1995 Peter James
 2016 Mark Hall 2005 Ian Fisher 1994 Joan Cubbon
2015 Mark Hall 2004 Kath Robertshaw 1993 Malcolm Pickering
2014 Mark Hall 2003 Ian Fisher 1992 Ian Fisher
2013 Scott Harrington 2002 Mark Hall 1991 Ian Fisher
2012 Mick Jeffrey 2001 Ian Fisher 1990 Malcolm Pickering
 2011  Mick Jeffrey 2000 Mark Hall 1989 Mick Jeffrey