Thursday 21st July – The Liz Fawcett Leathley Handicap

Thursday 21st July – The Liz Fawcett Leathley Handicap

The two day postponement due to oppressive almost 40 degrees heat on Tuesday, 2 days later and it was 20 degrees cooler with a light drizzle, so pretty good conditions for running.

New member Dafydd took advantage of his newbie status to take a clear victory in the July’s Eric Smith Handicap trophy race. Route planner Liz nearly won her own handicap finishing second ahead of the leader in the Handicap series Rachel.

Scott stormed round for 6th, beating his best time by about a minute and taking 11 seconds off Ian Fisher course record from 2009, the first time we ran Liz’s Handicap. Nicola Swann had the fastest ladies time of the night finishing one behind Scott in 7th.

Rachel Michael extends her lead at the top of the Eric Smith handicap table 37 points ahead of Bob Payne, Sarah Belt just a further point behind in third. See full handicap table here.

August’s handicap race is the flat 5k route, similar to our Harrogate League route, without the Pool Road bit on Tuesday 16th, see details on the Notices post here. Thanks to Steve Davey for the photos below the results list.

PosNameTimeH’CapNet TimeH’Cap Pts
1Dafydd Hammond-Jones1:18:5928:0050:5920
2Liz Fawcett1:21:5017:001:04:5019
3Rachel Michael1:22:0717:001:05:0718
4Chris Brunold1:23:2317:001:06:2317
5Sarah Higgins1:24:1927:0057:1916
6Scott Harrington1:24:2251:0033:2215
7Nicola Swann1:24:5228:0056:5214
8John Dade1:25:1231:0054:1213
9Phil Robinson1:25:1527:0058:1512
10Bob Payne1:25:3711:001:14:3711
11Harry Bowness1:25:4537:0048:4510
12Maddie Delucchi1:26:1020:001:06:109
13Graham Lake1:26:1745:0041:178
14Lee Gumbrell1:26:3137:0049:317
15Sarah Belt1:27:0827:001:00:086
16Antonio Cardinale1:27:2900:001:27:295
17Ben Cousen1:28:2345:0043:234
18Pam Tranter1:28:2927:001:01:293
19Paul Tranter1:29:0839:0050:082
20Andy Webster1:32:5635:0057:561

One thought on “Thursday 21st July – The Liz Fawcett Leathley Handicap

  1. Congratulations to Dafydd H.J. for the victory in this race 6 of the Eric S. Trophy , Dafydd crossed the finish line in a strong 50.14 . Congratulations to Scott H. too for breaking the course record by 11 seconds held by Otley AC’s legend Ian Fisher , Scott finished in a fabulous 33.22 . Nicola S. had a solid run finishing in a brilliant 56.52 , a time that it is not bad at all . Also Rachel M. had a splendid performance finishing in a fast 1.04 . President Graham L. had a great run finishing in a powerful 41.17 . Well done all .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.